Spot the cows at Starbucks on Earth Day

As you may have read in the “10 things you may not know about me” in my recent post on awarding the Stylish Blogger Award to other well-deserving bloggers, I drink tea, not coffee. I rarely buy tea at Starbucks, except when I’m away from home, such as traveling out of state. I have a hard time understanding the reason for buying coffee at Starbucks every day – it doesn’t seem that difficult to turn on a coffee maker. But again, I don’t drink coffee, so maybe it’s not that simple. I see even less of the point with tea though. Hmm, boil water, drop tea bag – that, I can do myself! So getting tea at Starbucks is a treat for me, and my favorite is the deliciously flavorful Tazo Earl Grey tea.

Today, in honor of Earth Day, Starbucks offered free coffee (and tea) to its customers who brought in their travel mugs. Starbucks, here I come! I brought my old Starbucks travel mug, which I love because its seals so well. Unfortunately my lid flap broke a while ago, and I’m such a klutz that I manage to tilt my mug and spill tea every other time I use it. For klutzes like me, Starbucks also offered 20% off its travel mugs (they do have the BEST seals) so I bought a new mug. And no, there was no cow on it. Sigh.

Starbucks travel mug with no cows on it

Starbucks travel mug with no cows on it

Not quite lady-like, but perfect for me and my klutzy hands, with its wide handle and an easy to maneuver lid flap. And for my weak hands, it even features a tall lid with grippy thingies so I can open my mug without too much wrestling. Well, I hope it won’t fight me.

Right after my purchase, my son spotted a large basket full of children’s books, strategically placed at his eye level. I’m guessing the books are for sale but my son impulsively grabbed a couple and sat at a table to read them. What can I say? He’s a real bookworm, just like me, and he makes his mama very proud! That’s when I saw this book stand out of the pile:

Click Clack Moo - Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin

Click Clack Moo - Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin

What’s funny is that we read Click Clack Moo – Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin at home several months ago. This is a very funny story about cows blackmailing a farmer to get what they want (in this case, electric blankets). The cows even resolve to milk strike as part of the negotiation process. Never underestimate the willpower and the cunningness of cows!

Thanks, Starbucks, for the yummy tea and the cow sighting! And happy Earth Day to everyone!

Leave a Reply

