Battle of the daily cows: which ice cream would you buy?

This morning our family’s day off (Martin Luther King’s day) started with a trip to SeaWorld San Diego. After we walked around for a couple of hours, we decided to grab lunch somewhere else. That’s when I realized that I didn’t see my famous SeaWorld cow (read Did you know they have cows at SeaWorld? for the background story). I swear we went by that cafe location, but I never saw the cafe or the cow, and looking at the park map, I couldn’t find it either. I can’t believe the Mango Joe’s Beach Cafe may be gone and the sun baskin’ cow too…

We then went to Souplantation for lunch, where our kids’ milk bottle always displays a happy cow (Heritage milk, with Real California Milk):

Souplantation Heritage milk bottle with cow

Souplantation Heritage milk bottle with cow

Talking about milk, I had to take a little trip down to our local Target to refuel. You can’t avoid walking by the ice cream section when getting milk and something caught my attention.

Check out the cow on the Ben & Jerry’s ice cream carton:

Ben & Jerry's ice cream carton - happy cow

Ben & Jerry's ice cream carton - happy cow

Doesn’t this cow fully represent the picture of happiness? We know Ben & Jerry only get their milk and cream from farmers who pledge to treat their cows well, without overuse of hormones and antibiotics. All I can say is that it shows in the picture!

Now, right next to the Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, you can opt for lower-calorie choices such as Skinny Cow:

Skinny cow ice cream

Skinny cow ice cream

Now, I’m sorry to say this, but even though the cow is smiling, it does NOT look healthy!!! If I saw such a skinny cow, I’d call the Humane Society and report its farmer for neglect! Or maybe the cow is anorexic and has some serious body image issues… Either way, I’m not buying it!

One response to “Battle of the daily cows: which ice cream would you buy?

  1. Pingback: My first Skinny Cow truck | Every day I see a cow

Leave a Reply

