Happy cows make yummy string cheese

I met my daily cow at my local grocery store today, in the dairy department. Even a blind person could spot a cow in the dairy aisle but I have to admit that some packages look way more interesting than others. In an ocean of dairy options, the right cow can help a specific vendor stand out, and that’s the case for Lucerne.

Lucerne is the store brand for Vons, also known at Safeway or Stop and Shop in other states. Lucerne tends to rely on funny representations of cows to sell their dairy products – their logo is a good indication of how funky looking a cow can appear:

Lucerne logo - funny looking cow

Lucerne logo - funny looking cow

Most of the Lucerne dairy products feature the cow head logo above and no additional artwork. That is until they recently revamped their string cheese package… Check out this hilarious drawing on the front of the Lucerne string cheese bag:

Lucerne string cheese with happy cows

Lucerne string cheese with happy cows

I love the idea of using a super happy cow wearing a straw hat and chewing on a few straws of wheat, while proudy displaying a handful of string cheese. Silly me, it actually took me a few tries to guess it was string cheese in that cow’s hoof! I thought they were French fries at first, and I couldn’t figure out why a cow would carry French fries!!!

Now, I’m not sure if the best part of the drawing is this happy cow in the foreground or the even happier cows in the background doing somersaults!

Lucerne string cheese - happy cows doing somersaults

Lucerne string cheese - happy cows doing somersaults

Did somebody tell them their milk was being used to make string cheese, and not milk shakes???

In a world of boring dairy product packaging and logos (or even freaky looking logos like the Skinny Cow logo I recently spotted) I give Lucerne two thumbs up for using happy cows having fun on their packaging!

Leave a Reply

