Today’s cow is so happy, it’s “The laughing cow”!

It’s been a while since I’ve spent time studying the cheese aisle at the grocery store, mostly because I usually know what I want and just grab it and go. Today I lingered to see what was new, and boy, was I up for a surprise!

My first cow was on the box of “The laughing cow” cheese, an almost literal translation of “La vache qui rit”, the original name for this French cheese treat.

The laughing cow cheese - fromage la vache qui rit

The laughing cow cheese - fromage la vache qui rit

But wait, what is that??? Queso Fresco Chipotle Laughing Cow cheese? Wow, we’ve come a long way from the original creamy swiss flavored spreadable cheese! Actually, this new flavor shouldn’t be too surprising for any French person. For as long as I can remember, The Laughing Cow has been a favorite during the “aperitif” in many French households with its individual size cubes (not wedges) in a variety of flavors, from ham, to garlic and herbs, to spicy peppers, you name it. So it’s nice to see the introduction of a new flavor on the American market.

The Laughing Cow is also well known for its Babybel cheese, in the form of the famous red disk. Today, I found it in the Bonbel flavor (milder than the original gouda, if that’s even possible):

Babybel Bonbel cheese - fromage Babybel

Babybel Bonbel cheese - fromage Babybel

And surprise, surprise, in cheddar flavor! Ah-Ha, looks like the French have finally discovered what cheese flavor the Americans really prefer!

Babybel cheddar cheese - fromage Babybel au cheddar

Babybel cheddar cheese - fromage Babybel au cheddar

Laughing cows make yummy cheese!

3 responses to “Today’s cow is so happy, it’s “The laughing cow”!

  1. Oh wow, I used to love Babybels, haven’t had them in ages!

  2. I love cheese, I am sure I was Mickey Mouse’s brother in my previous life.
    Very nice post:)

Leave a Reply

