Facebook helps you meet cow lovers

I’ll admit it, I’m not a big Facebook fan. I reluctantly joined the club to create a Facebook page for this blog, and one for another website of mine. Somehow I ended up creating a personal profile and feeling obligated to make “friends” with people who’d be upset if I didn’t connect with them… I’m getting used to the whole system and it’s not so bad, but it clearly doesn’t have the networking power of LinkedIn.

Just like on LinkedIn, I like the ability to comment on my friends’ updates. What’s interesting about Facebook is that it feels compelled to notify you of every single comment posted after yours, even though those comments may be from complete strangers to you.

That’s how I encountered my daily cow. Last night I wrote a comment on a web link my friend Sally posted, and by this morning a number of Sally’s friends had added their own comments. I don’t know why but I always feel I should read them, just in case I miss something. As I did, I was intrigued by the profile picture of one of Sally’s friends. To protect her identity I won’t share her name and I blurred out her face, but here’s her profile picture:

Facebook Friends of Friends Cow Lover

Facebook Friends of Friends Cow Lover

As the networking saying goes, “it’s not just who you know, but who they know”. Well, thanks to Facebook’s Friends of Friends feature, I clearly found someone who’s more crazy about cows that I am! Crazy enough to display a lifesize fake cow on her profile photo… Kudos to her!

2 responses to “Facebook helps you meet cow lovers

  1. How ironic that my first sentence of my post yesterday was “I admit it. I’m addicted to Facebook” and yours was “I’ll admit it, I’m not a big Facebook fan.”
    Looks like Facebook was on both of our minds but for different reasons!

Leave a Reply

