The various faces of discount store cows

Today marked a milestone for me when I visited my town’s biggest and oldest discount store for the first time. Don’t ask me why but I’ve never stepped inside until today, even though I drive by it several times a week. I’m glad I did though, since I found a few bargains and a couple of cheap, fun toys and art activities for the kids. I also spotted a large selection of Easter basket treats but since my oldest was with me, I’ll have to make a future trip to get what the Easter bunny will be bringing to our house. Hey, I’ve got to keep the dream and magic alive for a few more years!

Since I’m unfamiliar with the store, we ended up walking up and down almost every aisle to check out its offerings. That’s when my son proudly announced, “Mama, I think we’re going to see your cow of the day here!” And he was right, we found several of them throughout the store.

Grazing cows on puzzle

Grazing cows on puzzle

We spent a good amount of time in the toy area (you’ve got to have a lot of willpower not to buy a whole bunch of junk there!) and that’s where I spotted these grazing cows on a puzzle. I love doing puzzles so I always take a close look at the selection. I have to admit that I don’t see many cows on jigsaws so it was a nice surprise.

Rebel cow with a mohawk

Rebel cow with a mohawk

The second cow I found was also in the toy department and it’s quite a rebel! Check out its punk hairstyle. This has to be one of my favorites, rock on!

Kitchen jar with dairy cows

Kitchen jar with dairy cows

The last cows I spotted where in the kitchen area right on these cute hand-painted jars. When I showed the photo to my husband, his immediate reaction was, “What, you didn’t buy a jar? Those cows are cute!” He’s right, they are really cute but I doubt they’d last more than a week at my house, with my famous clumsy hands. I can only be trusted with tupperware. Eh, forget that. I’ve managed to break a number of those plastic containers too. What can I say, I’m the queen of klutz at my home but I can make really cool art with my talent… Still, for the purpose of this blog, electronic cows will always be in much safer hands!

6 responses to “The various faces of discount store cows

  1. I love the stuffed cow!

  2. Hey, I like jigsaws too! Have you tried playing them online? I use this site, I found one of a cow for you :)

    http://www.epuzzle.info/highland_cattle

    • Oh my gosh, what did you make me discover?! I have to erase this URL out of my memory or I’ll be doing puzzles the whole day! I love the cow by the way, it looks very, very cool (and very, very warm with all that fur on its head).

  3. Wait…..There’s no Easter Bunny?! :(
    And I wonder if they have teddy bears with mohawks….hmmmm
    I want to let you know I am passing on the Stylish Blogger Award to you because I love your blog! http://therealsharon.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

