What happened to the cow who jumped over the moon?

Spring Break is taking place this week and next at my son’s preschool, so we’re getting to spend plenty of time together. We had a morning full of activities running from a doctor’s appointment to the mall, to lunch, to the gas station, to the library, and finally back home in time for his nap.

While we were walking around at the outdoor mall, we spent some time at Barnes & Noble and sat down to read a few children’s books. One of them was called “Cloudette” by Tom Lichtenheld.

Children's book Cloudette by Tom Lichtenheld

Children's book Cloudette by Tom Lichtenheld

This is a very cute story about a little cloud who searches for its real purpose in life until it finds out how to make a difference. While it reflects on the possibilities, it travels to several places, one of them being the moon. Check out who else happens to be on the moon!

Cow on the moon in children's book Cloudette

Cow on the moon in children's book Cloudette

If you ever wondered what happened to the cow who jumped over the moon, it seems that it just got stuck up there. Oh wait, I’ve read this story before. It was called Little Einsteins’ June New Shoes and it was one of the worst children’s books I’ve ever read!

My trip to the gas station exposed me to indecent gas prices ($4.15 a gallon, are you kidding me???) and smokeless tobacco from a company that thinks Longhorn bulls are sexy and manly. I didn’t get to snap a picture while there but here’s the logo of the sexy beast:

Longhorn chewing tobacco

Longhorn chewing tobacco

Did you notice it’s a running bull? I think it’s doing its best to jump out of the picture and avoid the association with a gross and disease-causing product. Run, Ferdinand, run! By the way, I’d love to read The Story of Ferdinand to my kids because I like the idea of a pacific bull. I just can’t get past the bull fighting theme and having to explain the whole thing to my boys…

2 responses to “What happened to the cow who jumped over the moon?

  1. Yuck…my brother uses Longhorn Smokeless Tobacco..I wish he didn’t, it’s so gross!

Leave a Reply

