Are you ready to see cows with big rabbit ears?

One perk of shopping at Henry’s Marketplace (soon to be renamed Sprouts after the two companies recently merged) is to find a little coupon booklet called Mambo Sprouts. The downside of this coupon book is I’m interested in only a few coupons. Since they are great-value coupons, such as $1 off soy hot dogs, I always grab several booklets, knowing I’ll throw most of the pages away.

Today I discovered a display that instantly solves my wasted paper dilemma. Henry’s has created a stand that displays the Mambo Sprouts coupons in individual pouches. This allows you to take only the coupons you need, and as many as you want. Pretty neat invention – I like it!

Henry's Marketplace coupon stand

Henry's Marketplace coupon stand

As I was racking up all of the grabbing just a few of the coupons I’ll use, I glanced down and saw a few cows that deserved closer attention. Here are the cows from the bottom left hand side:

Henry's coupon stand - cows with rabbit ears

Henry's coupon stand - cows with rabbit ears

What do you think about the calf’s ears? Alright, I hear you, you think it’s just a fluke, so for comparison purposes I’ll show you a close-up of the cows on the bottom right hand side:

Henry's coupon stand - more cows with rabbit ears

Henry's coupon stand - more cows with rabbit ears

Here’s another calf with rabbit ears! I have three possible explanations for these giant ears:

1) My black cat used to have giant ears when he was a kitten. He eventually grew into them. Well, mostly. So maybe the illustrator of these cows has a cat with big ears and thinks the same applies to baby cows.

2) The illustrator doesn’t have a cat but he’s a big fan of Skippyjon Jones (another cat!) and thinks it’s cool to have big ears.

3) The illustrator is a fan of Despereaux in The Tale of Despereaux. Maybe in his mind these baby cows are unlikely heroes destined to do great things…

If you can think of any other reason for the big cow ears, I’d love to hear it!

2 responses to “Are you ready to see cows with big rabbit ears?

  1. Maybe the artist was working from a photo of a calf with a cockatoo on its head?

Leave a Reply

