What do you think sells more yogurt? Cows or kangaroos?

I’ve noticed many brands of yogurt in the past but I had quite an unexpected surprise today. I was restocking on liquid yogurt for my oldest when I spotted something that didn’t seem to belong in the dairy aisle.

When I shop for yogurt, this is what I expect to find: happy cows, grazing on green pastures.

Stonyfield organic yogurt with cows

Stonyfield organic yogurt with cows

Next to this yogurt stack, I saw this:

Wallaby yogurt - with NO COWS!

Wallaby yogurt - with NO COWS!

What the heck is that, I thought? I’ve heard of Greek style yogurt and find it delicious, but Australian style? Is this made with… wallaby milk??? Is someone pulling my leg? Do people in Australia eat that much yogurt they had to invent their own style? Will someone from Australia please enlighten me?

So I did my own research and went on the Wallaby Yogurt website. There I learned that Australian style yogurt is supposed to taste creamy and smooth, unlike the common American yogurt (that, I believe).  I love creamy and smooth yogurt and so far, the best yogurt I’ve found to match this description is Brown Cow yogurt. I’ll admit it, I’m quite curious about finding out if Wallaby yogurt really  tastes that good. It may end up in my shopping cart during my next grocery store trip.

2 responses to “What do you think sells more yogurt? Cows or kangaroos?

  1. You should totally try the wallaby yoghurt :D even if it has no cows…

Leave a Reply

