What goes with chickens? Cows, of course

After recently reading Kate DiCamillo’s The Tale of Despereaux, I wanted to share more of her books with my kids, so I borrowed a few from the library, including Louise – The Adventures of a Chicken:

Louise - The adventures of a chicken by Kate DiCamillo

Louise - The adventures of a chicken by Kate DiCamillo

Louise is bored with her tranquil life in the French countryside and longs for adventure. Her quest for breathless moments is quite successful, and after her third adventure she decides to return to her French farm for good. Take a look at the peaceful scenery – I’d want to spend a day or two there too…

Louise - the adventures of a chicken - farm and cows

Louise - the adventures of a chicken - farm and cows

This morning my oldest had a school field trip to the San Diego Zoo. Siblings were allowed so I took his little brother to join the fun. The kid got way too excited over his first field trip and kept running away from the group every 10 minutes. Apparently Thursday is the designated weekday for field trips at the zoo so the place was very crowded, which added to my stress. I’m not sure who needed a nap more this afternoon – my kids or me…

While at the zoo we visited the Elephant Odyssey, which features several exhibits of past life in Southern California. I’ve seen these exhibits before but this is the first time I’ve noticed this huge skull of a long-horned bison:

Skull of a long-horned bison at the San Diego Zoo's Elephant Odyssey

Skull of a long-horned bison at the San Diego Zoo's Elephant Odyssey

I can’t believe I missed it the last dozen times I walked by it. Sometimes you just don’t see what’s right in your face.

Leave a Reply

