The cow in “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

The curious incident of the dog in the night-timeI just finished reading the book “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” by Mark Haddon today. It’s been on my to-read list for several years so I was very excited to finally get to it. What can I say, I always get to read other books first.

 I’m very glad I did though – this book is excellent and I highly recommend it. Narrated from the viewpoint of 15-year-old autistic character Christopher, it gives you great insight on how the autistic mind functions – and sometimes mis-functions. It doesn’t take long to realize Christopher is a very sharp young man but has a hard time processing some types of information, especially in stressful situations. This can make him appear “dumb” to people who don’t know him, an understandable yet sad consequence.

I won’t go over the plot in detail because I don’t want to spoil it if you haven’t read the book. But since this blog is about cows, I feel compelled to tell you about a part of the book. On page 141 of my book version, Christopher starts describing cows he saw in a field on his way to France with his parents a few years earlier. Reading his 7-point highly observant description is fascinating since most of us would never describe the same scene his way. He then decides to add a cow drawing to his description, in case someone asks him what the cows looked like:

Cow drawing in The curious incident of the dog in the night-time

Cow drawing in The curious incident of the dog in the night-time

So there you have it. Even when you read grown-up books, you may run into a cow picture. You just never know.

6 responses to “The cow in “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

  1. That book sounds interesting. I might have to see if the library has it so I can read it sometime! :)

  2. I’m so glad you mentioned this book it’s exactly the one I wanted to order from amazon, for a while now (and I had forgotten the name!!)
    As I went to order it, I chatted to my 16yo and it turns out she has it already!!! So it’s been sitting underneath me in the cellar all this time…
    Big thank you!!

Leave a Reply

