The cow jumping over the moon – an inspiration for reading

While picking up some new books at the library, I noticed a number of posters on the wall. They appear to be the result of a contest the library recently ran for school-age children. From what I could make out, kids had to create a poster that would represent reading and what it means to them. I love to see what kids come up with, especially when it has to do with their reading experience and journey. One of the posters I noticed right away was this one (sorry about the glare):

Library reading poster contest - Goodnight moon

Library reading poster contest - Goodnight moon

Ah, Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown… Such a simple book, and yet so many parents and children love it. Definitely the perfect gift for any newborn baby (diapers are nice too).

I like to see the girl put herself into the book since that’s exactly what books do for us – draw us into their story. The only issue I have with this poster is the cow jumping over the moon. Or rather the crescent moon under the cow, particularly its placement and angle. Don’t think of me as a pervert (please don’t), but I find this a little disturbing…

Cow jumping over the moon in Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

Cow jumping over the moon in Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown

At least the original illustration in Goodnight Moon doesn’t show the moon at this angle (yes, I did check!). So children and parents, rejoice and keep reading!

4 responses to “The cow jumping over the moon – an inspiration for reading

  1. My youngest daughter is 12 but I still have a copy of Goodnight Moon, love that boook :)

  2. My oldest is 5 and we are still going strong making fun memories from reading this book. I still love his comment on, “..I think the mouse lives inside that little house…”. Children’s book that creates beautiful memories is the best kid’s book of all.

Leave a Reply

