Using a cow skull for an RIP message?

I don’t know what to make of today’s cow sighting. I’m not sure if it’s just part of a decor scene or a sad message. It started after I picked up a few new books at the library with my kids this afternoon. As we were walking back to the car, we saw this set-up at the end of the shopping plaza:

Scrapbook store tombstone scene with cow skull

Scrapbook store tombstone scene with cow skull

I’ll admit, I really appreciate the work that went into putting this Western decor together. But I was a little shocked. Is this place closing down? Why would they associate their business name with a tombstone? I looked around and for the life of me, I couldn’t find any other sign saying they were going out of business and had to sell it all. Maybe I didn’t look hard enough. But if you were a business owner and were trying to stay afloat when the whole US economy looks like a giant downward spiral, why would you even set up such a scene in front of your store? Are you trying to jinx your business? I just don’t get it.

So I’ll have to keep an eye on the place. Will it stay or will it go? Some many small businesses in my town have closed down in the past couple of years, and yet we’re somehow faring better than the city of San Diego overall. At least the scrapbook store didn’t break the bank to create this scene. They used a plastic cow skull, not a real one…

Plastic cow skull decoration

Plastic cow skull decoration

Leave a Reply

