It’s cows galore at Barnes & Noble

After a few exciting mornings this week, we decided to take it easy today, starting with running a few errands at Target to purchase the final necessary items for my son’s first day at kindergarten next week. Then I thought it’d be a great idea to head to the children’s book department at Barnes & Noble. The kids spent time playing with the Thomas the Train table and discovering new books they grabbed off the shelves.

That’s how we found out Judy Schachner just came out with a new Skippyjon Jones book (Skippyjon Jones Class action) and I browsed the whole department taking photos of interesting books I’ll request from our library at some point.

As soon as we walked into the children’s book department, this is what I saw on one of the toy shelves, usually displaying characters from famous books:

Plush cow, plush pig and plush chicken from Sandra Boynton's books

Plush cow, plush pig and plush chicken from Sandra Boynton's books

Sandra Boynton rules! She now sells plush cows, plush pigs and plush chickens from her funny books and these look surprisingly close to her illustrations. She always manages to draw animals who look seem to be in a complete state of wonder, or as I like to call it, cluelessness.

As I was perusing the department for new book ideas to later borrow at the library, I somehow managed to spot a lot more cows than I ever thought possible for one morning. Of course, it wouldn’t be fair of me to just talk about it, so here are my findings.

Book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Are you ready for the second book I saw?

Book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Hmm, are you starting to see a pattern? Not yet? Maybe this will help.

Another book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Another book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Hey, it’s a purple cow! Well, I’ll be damned. Alright, one more.

Again, another book with cows at Barnes & Noble

Again, another book with cows at Barnes & Noble

There you have it, today’s theme is… the farm! Wait, I thought we went to Barnes & Noble? Wow, books really do take you places.

2 responses to “It’s cows galore at Barnes & Noble

  1. How FUN! Sandra Boynton rules!

Leave a Reply

