Today’s cow is made out of cheese, not butter

I’d like to start today’s post by providing you with an update on Yvonne, the runaway cow. It seems that after four months of running wild and free in the Bavarian forest, Yvonne found out the grass may not be so much greener on the other side to stay there permanently. Just a few days ago she joined a group of cows on a farm and started grazing with them. This makes me think cows are not solitary animals and do feel comfort and reassurance from the herd. Read the “happy” ending for Yonne the runaway cow on the NPR website. I say happy, because Yvonne won’t go to the slaughterhouse she was destined to go to before her escape, and will spend the rest of her life in an animal sanctuary.

My cow sighting for today is a lot cleaner and cutier than yesterday’s. It happened at the library, in the children’s book department. I picked up a whole bunch of new books for us to read. While browsing the aisles, I saw this book on the shelf and my curiosity compelled me to flip the pages:

What is this? book by Antje Damm

What is this? book by Antje Damm

I love this type of books, where the artist makes up images out of photos of items you see in real life. The front cover is just one example (making a sheep out of a ball of yarn). I’ll admit it, I became highly suspicious when I got to this page:

What is this? by Antje Damm - cheese page

What is this? by Antje Damm - cheese page

Did you guess yet? Here’s what you see when you turn the page (sorry for the blurry image):

What is this? by Antje Damm - cow made out of cheese

What is this? by Antje Damm - cow made out of cheese

Pretty cool, huh? It’s not the butter cow (she’s still running for president by the way), it’s the cheese cow! I showed this book to my kids and they had a lot of fun flipping through the pages and guessing what the animals were. What a great way to tickle their imagination!

8 responses to “Today’s cow is made out of cheese, not butter

  1. What a great way to teach them too…

    Yvonne has certainly had a few adventures, hasn’t she?

  2. Encouraging them to play with their food, eh? ;)

  3. Not a book you could easily fit on a bookshelf next to others, though…at least I’m guessing from the balls of yarn sticking out. :)

Leave a Reply

