Will someone please give this cow a haircut?

There was a lot of running around this morning – getting the kids ready in time for a doctor’s appointment, then rush to school, then take a quick break somewhere before lunch and nap. That somewhere happened to be Barnes & Noble but not the one in my town. This one is a lot larger with more books, more toys, more Nooks, more Starbucks, more everything.

My son and I spent some leisurely time in the children’s book department playing with the train table, using Mo Willem’s Gerald and Piggie stuffed characters as props (The train ran them over a few times. That should teach them not to stand on the tracks…) and reading a few children’s books. It didn’t take long for my son to direct me to “take a picture of this book, Mama!”

The busy little train book

The busy little train book

But as I quickly found it, this book was only the beginning of a long trail of books featuring cows all over the store. We saw this cute book on another shelf as we were reading one just above it.

Moo book

Moo book

 Even though there are no cows on the front cover, this inside page spread quite makes up for it:

Cows in the Moo book

Cows in the Moo book

As we were leaving the store, we made a pit stop by the restrooms. Ironically the “Animals and Nature” aisle is the one to lead you to the restrooms and I couldn’t help but seeing this book on our way. You’ve got to love its title. “Cow tails & trails”? I can’t believe I didn’t come up with it myself!

Cow tails & trails book

Cow tails & trails book

We walked by the same aisle on our way out of the restrooms and that’s when I spotted this book. From the muttered sounds that came out of my son’s mouth as he saw the cover, I’m not sure he knew what to make of it. But I think you’ll agree with me, this cow needs a haircut!

Rare breeds book

Rare breeds book

8 responses to “Will someone please give this cow a haircut?

  1. Reminds me of a few people I know’s real life hairdos! LOL

  2. Haha! It does need a trim of its bangs.

  3. It is a Scottish Highlander and there are several right here in America. They are known for their hair and actually get along well in high and colder altitudes. There is actually an art to “fitting” a cow, which is an overall hair regiment for show cattle. The art of “fitting” a dairy cow (the black and white ones you see everywhere) versus fitting a “beef cow” is different, as well as how you fit a male from a female. And the hair products are as varied as they are for our hair.

Leave a Reply

