Buy some cheese, see some cows, and more cows, and more cows

Let me show you what a quick trip to the grocery store can get you into. As I was trying to restock on shredded cheese at our local food4Less store, I happened to see a cow on this bag of cheese:

Kroger nacho & taco cheese with a cow

Kroger nacho & taco cheese with a cow

I’m not sure what the kids are trying to feed this cow, but I’m guessing they’re apples. Mmmm, who could resist crunchy, juicy apples?

But wait, I see more shredded cheese, and more cows!

Kroger mozzarella cheese with a cow

Kroger mozzarella cheese with a cow

Ah, mozzarella, just what I was looking for. Wait a minute, is this the same photo? Haha, funny. But wait, there’s more cheese, and more cows!

Kroger cheddar cheese with a cow

Kroger cheddar cheese with a cow

Alright, I get it now. Kroger uses the same kid and cow picture for all their shredded cheese packaging. Well, that makes sense. But wait, more cheese, and more cows!

Kroger monterey jack cheese with a cow

Kroger monterey jack cheese with a cow

Er, what happened here? Who changed the cow picture on me??? Oh well, this shot looks cute too.

Now, I know cows are usually mellow but I’m not sure I’d let kids walk freely towards a whole herd without supervision. Would you? Those must be city kids for sure…

10 responses to “Buy some cheese, see some cows, and more cows, and more cows

    • You know, you’re not the first one to suggest this movie to me. I probably should watch it (and suffer from cow sighting overload) but I’m struggling with the idea of watching hours of slaughterhouse design to make it “easier” on the cow. There was a paragraph on her in “Fast Food Nation” but it didn’t make the case for much better conditions, especially when you realize what happens to the poor cows right after they enter the death chamber.

    • I’m a vegetarian . . . in part because I don’t think animals should be exploited for human consumption or entertainment.

      There were only a few minutes during the movie when I cringed. Temple Grandin has a pragmatic approach to our consumption of animals . . . but a desire to see us raise and slaughter them as humanely as possible.

  1. Walking around cows would be fine….but not bulls…

  2. Proper mozzarella ought to be made from buffalo milk, not cow. Sadly for my Dad, who has a dairy intolerance but can digest buffalo cheese just fine, a lot of mozzarella is now made from cow milk. It’s annoying as he should be able to eat pizza, but it’s hard to check!

Leave a Reply

