What would be Balloon Fiesta 2011 without a cow hot air balloon?

Oh boy, did I have an ecclectic selection of cow sightings today… From the cows lingering on several shelves in my fridge, to the ones grazing on the kids’ rug at home, to the Fisher-Price magnetic cow on my dishwasher. Oh, and I want to thank the kid who left a book with a cow on the front cover on my son’s preschool classroom floor so I could see it when I dropped him off. Now, if preschoolers are getting in on the daily cow joke, I’m in big trouble. Sorry, no picture of this cow but I didn’t feel like having 20 three-year olds asking me why I was taking a picture of the floor…

And then I got more cows in my email inbox! I want to thank Knotrune for sharing some photos she found on a picture forum she belongs to. All of the photos she shared were taken by her friend during Albuquerque’s Balloon Fiesta 2011 in New Mexico, and among the thousands of hot air balloons launched stood out this cow:

Cow hot air balloon at Albuquerque's balloon fiesta 2011

Cow hot air balloon at Albuquerque's balloon fiesta 2011

Here is the same cow seen from closer and a different angle:

Cow balloon at Balloon Fiesta 2011 in Albuquerque, NM

Cow balloon at Balloon Fiesta 2011 in Albuquerque, NM

Remember the cow statue from North Dakota I shared on this blog the other day? I think this cow balloon is so huge it could smother it!

Now, there were many other hot air balloons taking to the sky during Balloon Fiesta but this pig is the one that caught my attention:

Spider-Man pig hot air balloon at Balloon Fiesta 2011

Spider-Man pig hot air balloon at Balloon Fiesta 2011

Now, that’s what would happen if Wilbur the pig and Charlotte the spider from the book Charlotte’s Web got involved romantically!

View these photos and more of the Balloon Fiesta 2011 here. Thanks for sharing, Knotrune!

8 responses to “What would be Balloon Fiesta 2011 without a cow hot air balloon?

  1. They are brilliant!

  2. I love hot air balloons . . . in the shape of cows and pigs. :D

  3. What ever happened to Knotrune? I haven’t seen her post in a while :(

    The spider pig reminds me of the song from the “Simpsons Movie”…No, I do not watch The Simpsons and I have never seen the movie, but I have seen the preview for it years ago when they showed the song, “Spider Pig, Spider Pig, Does whatever Spider Pig does!”…Yea, not a very intelligent song, but when I saw the Spider Pig balloon, I thought of it and laughed…I wonder if that was the inspiration behind it?

  4. I “borrowed” your spider pig photo for my blog today at http://goodtogrow.wordpress.com. And by borrowed I mean took without your permission. I hope that’s ok (I linked back to your site). If it’s not, email me and I’ll take it down pronto.

  5. Pingback: It’s official: cows can fly | Every day I see a cow

Leave a Reply

