Meet Buttermilk the mechanical milking cow

I saw a few cows today, mostly in the new children’s books we borrowed, and I may share them with you another day if I happen to read the books again. Instead of showing you some of these cows, I wanted to share with you a story I read online earlier this afternoon about Buttermilk, the new mechanical milking cow at the Heritage Farmstead Museum in Plano, Texas. Look how cute it is!

Buttermilk the new mechanical milking cow at the Heritage Farmstead Museum in Plano, TX

Buttermilk the new mechanical milking cow at the Heritage Farmstead Museum in Plano, TX

Buttermilk is actually the second mechanical milking cow at this museum, replacing the first cow who got a little tired after 12,000 children practiced on its udders over a five-year period. Lifesize and made out of fiberglass, this light 200-pound cow helps little ones learn about the art of milking. I’m guessing it’s subtitled “The Giggling Machine”…

For more information about Buttermilk, including who helped pay for it, and what else is available at the Heritage Farm Museum in case you visit Plano someday, read this article on the Plano Courier Star news website.

4 responses to “Meet Buttermilk the mechanical milking cow

  1. My husband graduated high school in Plano and his dad and step mom live there. :) I have never been to Plano YET, but I probably will end up visiting there someday….and if I do, I guess I will have to check out this museum! :)

Leave a Reply

