Cows can show some motherly love

I’ve borrowed a lot of books from the library recently (and by that, I mean a lot) but my youngest seems to have an affinity for this book called My Mother Is Mine by Marion Dane Bauer, which he asks me to read with him almost every day.

My mother is mine by Marion Dane Bauer

My mother is mine by Marion Dane Bauer

I can’t disagree with him. This is a very cute book, with simple words and beautiful illustrations (in pastel), and my son remembers the lines well enough now he can “read” the book to me. It shows the ways a child can choose to describe his mother, including “My mother is strong”, “She holds me tight”, “My mother still loves me when I misbehave”. And of course, there’s this sentence, beautifully illustrated with kissing cows:

My mother is mine book - kissing cows

My mother is mine book - kissing cows

How cute! And yes, a kiss good night is one of the many ways to show motherly love. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some tucking and kissing to do.

10 responses to “Cows can show some motherly love

  1. I had a dream last night with a cow in! I totally blame your blog :) Not least because in the dream I made a mental note to remember it and carried on dreaming about something else! Crazy, I know :D This cow was doing experiments in a lab and had to have a monkey as an assistant because of course cows don’t have hands… OK, I’m going away now… ;)

    • Haha, what a crazy dream! I wonder what issues you’re working on so hard while you sleep. I love dreams and how they help us work out things we can’t figure out while we’re awake. It was very smart of the cow to partner with a handy monkey!

  2. Does your youngest like Minnie and Moo? Not the most complimentary depiction of cows, but funny.

    • Both of my kids really like reading Minnie and Moo’s adventures and I’ve covered a few books in this blog. My favorite is Minnie & Moo and the Attack of the Easter Bunnies. This has to be one of the funniest book about cows and farm life. I don’t think I had a spotlight on this book at the time but we might get it from the library in the future, so it will be a great opportunity to feature cows in Easter bunny suits!

  3. aaaww so sweet. I love good children books.

  4. How adorable! If I had a child, I would get this book and read it to him or her! :)

Leave a Reply

