Today’s cow looks quite mischievous with its heterochromia iridium condition

Heterochromia iridium? Say what??? I’m sorry, let me take you back a few steps.

This afternoon I took my five-year old to Michael’s art & craft store (it’s still one of my very favorite stores!) to get him a small present as a reward for his great behavior at school this pas week. We’ve been using a reward chart along with a few changes at school to correct some behavior issues , and so far this has worked great. So this time my son decided he’d get a black widow in the plastic animal department. Well, this spider is about 50 times bigger than a real black widow and is absolutely disgusting for someone like me who suffers from arachnophobia. What a mother wouldn’t put up with for her child…

We also took our time going through the bins of $1 items to see if we could get some good finds. We didn’t purchase anything but I found these pretty realistic cow and pig figurines:

Realistic cow and pig at Michael's art & craft store

Realistic cow and pig at Michael's art & craft store

But right below these realistic farm animals, I find their funny twins:

Funny pig, cow and sheep at Michael's art & craft store

Funny pig, cow and sheep at Michael's art & craft store

At first I couldn’t figure out why this cow looked so mischevious. It sure has a funny expression with its mouth half open and its deer-in-the-headlight stare. But then I got it. This cow has a special condition called heterochromia iridium. In more simple words, its eye irises are two different colors!

Cow with heterochromia iridium

Cow with heterochromia iridium

In real life, I don’t even think cows ever have green or yellow eyes, which makes this cow even funnier than it’s supposed to be. But I think it makes it look cute and quite unique. Wouldn’t you say so?

4 responses to “Today’s cow looks quite mischievous with its heterochromia iridium condition

  1. I agree this cow is both cute and unique. It reminds me of my Mother’s Day cow, which doesn’t have heterochromium iridium, but which does have grass growing out of its head. http://towriteistowrite.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=10165&action=edit

    I worry about the realistic pig, however. It appears to be in distress.

  2. That IS a cute cow and I have heard of people having two different colored eyes on rare occasions but never a cow…especially green and yellow! :)

Leave a Reply

