Today’s cow is a repeat appearance, with a twist, or rather a pinch…

Do you remember when not even a month ago, I was in the pediatrician’s office with my five-year old, waiting for a sinus infection diagnosis and a prescription for antibiotics? That’s when my son played with this wooden farm cube:

Wooden farm activity cube

Wooden farm activity cube

Well, I saw the same cube today! In the same pediatrician’s office. Only this time, I was there with my three-year old, with a possible sinus infection from his nasty cold. The pediatrician examined him and gave me a prescription to fill on Sunday if he’s not getting any better.

I really want to say “fingers crossed” about the cold going away, but you’ll see it’d be of bad taste because of what happened next.

As we were leaving the exam room, I suddenly heard my son scream his lungs out. I quickly realized he got his fingers stuck between the exam door and its frame (on the hinge side).

Fact: exam doors are very heavy and close on their own. Not a good thing when you stick your little fingers in there.

The first thing coming out of my mouth after I freed my son’s hand was:

“Damn it, again? Why???”

Not “are you OK?” Just a lot of frustration. Why? Because the little guy gets his fingers stuck in doors all the time. And I mean, all the time. And he doesn’t seem to be learning his lesson.

But today, one of his fingers had a HUGE dent in it. I mean, it looked awful. The good news is, we were in the doctor’s office when this happened! So a nurse gave me an ice pack right away and went to get our pediatrician. She quickly glanced at the finger, thought it wasn’t broken but ordered an X-ray just to be certain.

So off we went, down the elevator to the first floor and on to radiology. We waited there a while and then my son got his first body part X-ray (besides the usual dental X-rays). Three images later, we got to look at them on the computer screen right after. You know me, I won’t miss a teaching opportunity about radiology when we see one. Actually, my son is the one who requested to see “pictures of his skeleton.”

The radiologist said everything looked fine but we still went back upstairs to see our pediatrician as we were ordered, and she gave us clearance to leave. By then, the ice pack had worked miracles and the dent was gone. All that was left was a bad bruise on the inside of the finger. I’m guessing the bruising will be bigger tomorrow.

As we were leaving the parking lot, I told my son I’d have to tell his dad about the incident. His response?

“No, I don’t want him to know.” (Sorry buddy, too late)

Then I said we’d have to tell his brother. And to that he replied:

“Don’t tell him or he’ll be furious.”

That’s when I realized the little guy was embarrassed of his painful mistake. But in a way, I really hope he learned this time, unfornately the hard way. What a day.

So how many people can tell you they got a hand X-ray when they went to the doctor for a bad cold? I want to bet, not that many!

Leave a Reply

