Ooh la la, today’s cows are from France

I’d like to start today’s post by “thanking” WordPress for not sending out my daily post by email yesterday. What the heck, people? This isn’t the first time, either. Don’t you know how to fix a glitch when you see one? It’s not that your service is free, or something like that. Oh wait, it is. But still, when something’s broken, you should fix it…

So if you wondered what yesterday’s post was about, well, you missed seeing round sheep and square cows. Come on, you know you want to click.

For today’s post, I’d like to offer my sincere thanks to Tilly Bud at The Laughing Housewife. She recently visited fellow blogger Viv in her French Normandy home and then bragged about it. Over and over. It took her several posts to retell her trip step by step, hour by hour, including the good, the bad, and the ugly. Even after today’s post, I don’t think Tilly’s done telling us about the wonderful trip she had. And I hope she doesn’t, because I enjoyed reading every single part of it, as it reminded me so much of my home country and what I miss about it.

Today Tilly Bud included several beautiful pictures in her post, including this one she took from the window of a French Normandy castle. What a view! By the way, that’s exactly what Normandy looks like.

French Normandy dairy cows

French Normandy dairy cows

My first thought when I saw her picture? Yum, Normandy butter. By far this is the best tasting butter in the world. Of course, there may be some delicious Irish butter too, but I believe butter from Normandy is la creme de la creme. Oh, this reminds me. Normandy cows make yummy creme fraiche too.

Sorry if I sound snobbish or as I’m poo-pooing American butter. But if you ever have the chance to go to France, just buy some butter in a grocery store, as most of it is made in Normandy, and spread it on Fresh baguette. Then come back here and tell me what you think.

If there’s a heaven, THIS is the butter they serve there! Ooh la la, I can just smell and taste it now… Thanks, Tilly, what a wonderful flashback you’ve given me today!

5 responses to “Ooh la la, today’s cows are from France

  1. I wish I didn’t love the local butter so much, I might be a bit less round! And if you like our crème fraiche, you would die for the local crème crue (literally, raw cream), thick and scrummy. The local cows – 9 of whom live in the field below our house, must have two black eyes before they can be considered true to la race Normande.

    • Nice! Well, look at you, you see cows every day… I can find creme fraiche at my local Trader Joe’s, a great affordable international specialty store, so I should look if they have French butter (from Normandy, of course). You never know.

  2. :)

    SO much better than ‘utterly butterly’

  3. Glad you liked it! The Hub took it, though.

Leave a Reply

