Chicken soup and lots of cows

Today the boys and I started going through a fresh pile of books I just borrowed from the library. Our first pick was Chicken Soup. No, not the chicken soup for the soul series, but rather Jean Van Leeuween’s Chicken Soup, for the younger crowd:

Chicken soup by Jean Van Leeuwen

Chicken soup by Jean Van Leeuwen

 Well, you wouldn’t guess by looking at the book’s cover but there are a lot of cows in this book. And by that, I mean a lot. Here’s cow #1:

Cow in Chicken soup book

Cow in Chicken soup book

 And here’s cow #2. I thought it was the same cow at first but my son quickly corrected me by showing the cows had different cowhide patterns. What can I say? He’s a lot more observant than I am!

Another cow in Chicken Soup by Jean Van Leeuwen

Another cow in Chicken Soup by Jean Van Leeuwen

Now, are you ready for this one? Watch out, it’s cow overload! Look how offended the cows look when the poor little chick falls into their milk bucket.

So many cows in Chicken Soup book

So many cows in Chicken Soup book

And here’s the last cow. Well, I think it is, unless I missed one. Or two.

The last cow in the Chicken Soup children's book

The last cow in the Chicken Soup children's book

So next time you pick up a book about chickens, be ready to see cows. I wasn’t prepared for this today, so I’m just trying to help you out. It’s too late for me. I’m mooed out.

7 responses to “Chicken soup and lots of cows

  1. Tell me the chickens were saved!

    • Haha, sorry for forgetting to mention that. Well, the little yellow chick you see on every page actually has a cold (and sneezes a lot). So the farmer eventually catches him and brings him into his kitchen. There the farmer’s wife gives it vegetable soup, for the chicken, to make him feel better. Quite a funny story and my kids like the surprising end.

  2. PS I like your new background colour.

    • Thanks for the feedback on the color. What I really want to do is change the theme for both of my blogs to Coraline, because it has some cool sidebar options my current themes don’t have. But I’m very, very afraid it will mess everything up if I change the theme. Argh, what am I to do? I really want that new theme!

  3. Too cute, love the post.

Leave a Reply

