The cows in Anne of Green Gables

I recently decided I should read Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I never read it as a kid and I understand most American women who grew up in my generation and the previous ones read this childhood classic. So I borrowed the illustrated version from the library.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

When you get the illustrated version of a book, you see a couple of illustrations every chapter to match the text. Well, I had no idea there were cows in this book but Matthew, Anne’s adoptive father, owns a farm and gets to milk cows with his family. So here’s what I saw where I turned one of the pages:

Picture of a cow in Anne of Green Gables

Picture of a cow in Anne of Green Gables

 Oh well, that will teach me to try to catch up with the classics. And on top of it, I thought the book was so awful after reading a third of it, I just schemed through all the pages to be done with it today and move on to my next book. To think of it, that cow looks pissed off. I should have taken it as a sign…

8 responses to “The cows in Anne of Green Gables

  1. You thought it was awful…? Words fail me. I have read it to death. AOGG is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I shall have to stop reading your blog!

    (Kidding) :)

  2. LOVE Beef AND Anne of Green Gables! :) You combined 2 of our favorites! Thanks for supporting cattle!

Leave a Reply

