Cow skulls and real cows, on the same day…

I took my boys to the San Diego Zoo Safari Park yesterday. Since it was Mother’s Day, I got to pick what I wanted to do for my special day and this was an easy choice. We got to see lots of animals, breathe in some fresh air and enjoy good weather, cool in the morning, then sunny but not too hot.

During our visit we took a path we don’t take very often called the African Loop. One of the first exhibits on the path is a whole bunch of vultures. And nothing says vultures like carcasses, in this case a cow / Cape buffalo skull.

Cow skull at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park

Cow skull at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park

As the path continued, we approached the entrance of the Heart of Africa. And nothing says Africa (actually, Africa drought) better than not one, but two cow skulls (again, Cape buffalo). Cow skulls at the entrance of Heart of Africa at the San Diego Safari Park

On our way back, I spotted something on the side of the road. Fortunately I got the red light so I managed to use my cell phone and take a photo of a whole bunch of REAL cows grazing right by the side of the road. Now that’s something I don’t get to see every day!

Cows grazing in Escondido, CA

Leave a Reply

