Don’t know what to make with clay? How about a cow?

Remember what Forrest Gump said in the movie by the same name? It’s one of my favorite quotes, because it’s so true. “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

Well, I feel the same when I take my kids to Michael’s arts & craft store. I never know what I’m going to see there. My kids love stopping by the $1 bins to check out the new arrivals, and we usually stroll through the aisles on the way there. It’s amazing how many things you can create out of nothing. I have no idea how we ended up in the clay aisle this week and I don’t believe we’ve visited it in a very long time, but a surprise was waiting for us there. Should I call this fate? Cow fate?

This is the large display sign that was laying on top of the shelves where all the clay is stocked up. In case you want to work on some clay creations but don’t know what to do, the manufacturer is trying to show you what’s really cool looking. A cow, of course. And a pig. And a horse. Very cute! Come on, what are you waiting for? You know you want to try it.

Clay cow, clay pig and clay horse

Clay cow, clay pig and clay horse

8 responses to “Don’t know what to make with clay? How about a cow?

  1. I never understood that thing about the chocolates. In my experience, a box of chocolates should have a key so you can choose the ones you like and avoid the nutty ones (in my case, because I dislike nuts and my mother loves them). If it doesn’t tell you which chocolate is which, I won’t risk it! Not that I have nut allergy, but plenty of people do. But that’s just me. Oh and I saw a funny cow on Pinterest the other day, and forgot to send it to you, so here’s the link where it goes to! Very adventurous Norwegian cows :)
    http://creativeroots.org/2010/02/cows-in-the-wild-norway/

  2. And after I posted that, another blog I read had this! Cows in Iceland – wearing bras!!
    Icelandic wildlife photos – #10 Icelandic cattle | I’d Rather Be In Iceland
    http://idratherbeiniceland.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/icelandic-wildlife-photos-10-icelandic-cattle/

  3. My kids love clay too. They made all the characters from The Gruffalo once. They were so good I got them to make them again as part of a themed birthday present (obviously The Gruffalo was the theme).
    Unfortunately, I’m not artistic so I stick to snails, hedgehogs and anbstract art (as in everyone tries to guess what it is).

    Sorry I haven’t blogged for a while (after promising you) my daughter got so sick last week. She’s better now, but now the rest of us are all under the weather.

    • The Gruffalo as a birthday party theme? What a great idea! I love working with clay and I can’t wait for my kids to be a little older to drop the playdough and use real clay to make cool creations. Right now, they still like to mostly smash it together.

      I hope you all get better soon. Being sick in the summer is not fun!

Leave a Reply

