It’s the cow book parade at the library

Yesterday I dropped off some books at the library that were due then, and today it was time to pick up new books I had ordered. My librarian has played jokes on me before, putting children’s books with cows on the front covers in the past, but today I think she overdid it. I didn’t take photos of all the “cow” books on display but I think you’ll get the picture.

Faraway Farm

Faraway Farm

Aw, don’t they all look happy? Even the ducks are smiling.

Minnie and Moo: The Night of the Living Bed

Minnie and Moo: The Night of the Living Bed

If you’ve ever wondered what cows and sheep do at night, this book may have the answer for you.

Dance by the Light of the Moon

Dance by the Light of the Moon

Alright, cows could be dancing at night too – doesn’t it look like fun, and sexy? Is this dirty dancing?

Sailor Moo: Cow at Sea

Sailor Moo: Cow at Sea

I almost borrowed this book out of curiosity. The more I look at it, the more I regret not grabbing it off the shelf. Can you imagine what happens to a cow at sea?

The cow on the Roof

The cow on the Roof

Now I did grab this one and I read it tonight with my kids. Quite a funny story, about an Irish farmer who thinks his wife works less than him… He asks to trade chores for a day and things don’t go as planned, to say the least. I don’t think the cow will forget its adventure either, after falling off the roof and closely avoiding death by strangulation. I liked the artwork and the story – I’d recommend this one to anyone who wants to have a good laugh. Heck, there’s even Irish ale involved – what’s not to like?

Now, be on the lookout for more cow books because I got to borrow more than what you see here. Yes, there were that many cows on display at the library today. Was today Cow Appreciation Day by any chance?

4 responses to “It’s the cow book parade at the library

  1. Do the librarians know about your cow blog? If not….very, very strange indeed!

    • I very much doubt they know about it, which makes their obsession with cows even weirder! I know children’s books like to feature cows, but this cow display is a little extreme.

      • Yes….the kids section at our library is on the opposite side from the youth & adult books so not sure if ALL libraries are partaking in this cow event…but I think if I were you, I would be feeling a kind of “Twilight Zone” thing when I went in and saw ALL the cow books!
        Twilight Zone=equals creepy old Hitchcock TV series just in case you’re not familiar….therefore, I’d be feeling a creepy vibe LOL

      • Haha, I’m now entering the cow dimension!

Leave a Reply

